Cupcakes!

I’ve been wanting to bake these for ages. They are not difficult, but somehow they look more impressive than they are. And, I just wanted to know that I could do them. I have all these amazing ideas in my head, but because I don’t have an artistic bone in my body, I can never achieve what I want.  I do at least know this.  So I try to set myself easy targets.  Most of which I fail.  But life is about trying, isn’t it!

Of course on the day I decided to bake, I couldn’t find a chocolate cupcake recipe that used cocoa powder and not melted chocolate, but finally I found one – and it was one of those throw everyting together and blitz to hell recipes.  First I had to mix the cocoa powder with boiling water to form a paste, and then add everyting else. But the cocoa powder ended up in a solid mass in my mixing bowl. Not to be daunted, I thought I’d soften the butter and mix that with the cocoa powder, before adding the rest of the ingredients.  I put the butter in the oven whilst the oven heated up. And promptly forgot about the butter, and instead threw the eggs into the solid cocoa mess. Suddenly, I remembered the butter, but it was now a hot liquid and I could not add it to the eggs (scrambled cocoa eggs?!?!).  Sigh. I added everything else, and with the electric beaters going I poured the melted butter into the cake batter.  Somehow the cupcakes turned out fine!  Lifes little mercies!.

Cake batter goes into the ice cream cones and is baked as normal, then just a swirl of icing on the top, and there’s your cupcake!  A fab idea for children’s parties too. Chocolate ice cream cone cupcakes.  Just add sprinkles.

Cupcakes

Author: rockcakesramblings

I'm human. I'm not doing this because I think I'm good enough. I just want to try. Join me for some ranting, food talk, random photos. It's life!

2 thoughts on “Cupcakes!”

Leave a Reply

