Chocolate Fridge Cake (a Misnomer)

This really is a misnomer.  It is not a cake at all, it involves no baking.  But this is one of those recipes that is so easy to make, and so forgiving – you can use any combination of ingredients to add to the chocolate base.

I have been trying to get this recipe “just right” for too long. The issue is the chocolate base.  I want this to be firm enough to hold together, so that you can pick up a small square of this fridge cake with your fingers, instead of needing a spoon or a fork, and yet it must be just enough on the soft side of firm as to not be hard when you bite into it. You want a slightly forgiving level of firmness.  Yes, fussy, I know! There are numerous recipes for this and equally numerous are the variations on quantity of ingredients for the chocolate base.  You start off with chocolate, golden syrup and butter.  Oh, but the quantities vary so much.  Too much butter and you end up with an oily mess, too much syrup and you have a sticky gloop that will not co-operate…..you see what I’m getting at here?

Sadly I have not yet found my perfect combination, although for this particular batch I used 300g of milk chocolate, 150g of golden syrup and 120g of salted butter. This is melted together in a bowl over a pot of simmering water.  Now comes the fun part!  You add to this melted chocolate mixture your choice of “filler” ingredients.  Some type of biscuit or cracker to add crunch, and then it is all about texture and flavour – dried cranberries, raisins, cherries, nuts, orange zest, candied citrus peel, mini marshmallows….the choice is endless.

I have a love – not just a love but a complete and over-riding passion for the combination of salty and sweet – and, just mention salted caramel and I am all yours!  Galaxy used to make some chocolate caramel balls which were PERFECT for this recipe.  Unfortunately they seem to have stopped them.  I used a bag of Rolos instead, a bag of Reece’s peanut butter cups minis, plus a large pack of salted pretzels, with just a tiny sprinkling of sea salt flakes over the top. Chocolate, caramel, peanut butter, salt…….who’s arguing! The result – sweet and salty, sticky and gooey, crunchy and chewy. Sigh……

choc2

Author: rockcakesramblings

I'm human. I'm not doing this because I think I'm good enough. I just want to try. Join me for some ranting, food talk, random photos. It's life!

Leave a Reply

