Jarrolds Cheese Scones

Yes, I’m back, well not really, only intermittently.  The last few years have been a nightmare, ‘nuff said.  We’ve all had a terrible time in different ways, it’s not a competition.  Baking opportunities have been limited, but if I get one, I grab it, because for that short time I can forget about everything else.  It is my rare break back into a bit of normality.

I kept thinking I need to break this mental block I have about baking scones in the traditional way (rubbing the butter into the flour).  I have a good recipe, and it’s super easy, for scones made with oil instead of butter, but the other difference is that these are dolloped on to the baking tray, not cut out, and the end product whilst very light and tasty, is also very crumbly and falls apart a bit too easily.  A traditionally baked scone looks so much better and holds together well.  You could give someone a plate of traditionally baked scones and say smugly “there you are” and feel proud of your creation – looks are everything in this case.  Whereas I feel I have to apologise for the appearance and crumbly texture of my scone recipe.

In Norwich there is a fabulous department store called Jarrolds.  Mention Jarrolds and a lot of people will mention their delicious cheese scones….luckily for us, during lockdown Jarrolds published their cheese scone recipe in social media, and in the absence of being able to go into the store to sample them, I felt obliged to try the recipe.

I have made this a few times, each time thinking next time I will do better.  I do feel a bit more confident baking these now, but I wouldn’t say I’ve aced it yet.  My best is yet to come!  Having said that, each time I’ve baked these scones, they’ve been delicious, I’m just critical of my own efforts.  With this recipe I have upped the quantity of paprika and mustard powder, and omitted the cayenne pepper – this is a matter of taste, but they really do make a difference.  I have (once out of necessity) substituted almond milk for the dairy milk.  I tend to use a mixture of mature cheddar and Gruyere cheeses (I don’t like parmesan).  Do what works for you.  These really are delicious scones.  I actually think the egg wash doesn’t bring anything to the party, the scones are so cheesey, that they look beautifully golden brown on the top without help.  But that’s just me.  Do yourselves a favour and bake these 😊

Makes 6 large / 12 small scones

Ingredients:

300g self-raising flour

65g butter

2 medium sized eggs

135ml milk

120g mature cheddar

35g parmesan

Pinch of paprika, cayenne pepper and mustard powder (adjust to taste)

Large pinch salt

Method:

Preheat oven to 220 degrees (200 fan).

Mix together dry ingredients.  Add in the butter and rub together til mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Add in the grated cheese and mix in well.

Combine the milk and eggs, make a well in the centre of the dry mixture and pour in enough of the liquid to create a soft but firm dough.

Place dough on floured surface, using a rolling pin to roll out to approx. 1 ¼ inch thick.  Cut out scones with a circle cutter and place on lined baking tray.  Brush with egg wash.

Bake 12 to 15 minutes until golden brown.  Cool on a wire rack.

Wherever you are, whatever you are doing, I wish you a peaceful weekend 🙂

Author: rockcakesramblings

I'm human. I'm not doing this because I think I'm good enough. I just want to try. Join me for some ranting, food talk, random photos. It's life!

Leave a comment

Baker on the Run

Baking to deal with all the things, running to compensate.

Art and Soul

Books served with a generous slice of cake.

New Classic Recipe

- RECIPES, STORIES, ART

Travel Gourmet

Travel tips-Restaurant reviews-Recipes

Tasty Eats

Tasty recipes from chef Ronit Penso's kitchen

The Joys of Baking and Cooking

A celebration of home cooked food

surprising recipes

, easy, tasty and surprising recipes for everyone

beautifulpeopleinc.com

Live, Love, Travel and Laugh (Proudly Pinoy)

THE PARMIGIANA WHISPERER

- cream doesn't belong to carbonara -

Not So Skinny Cook

Delicious, healthy, food for busy families.

The Soggy Bottom

Spilling secrets from the stove

Dad That Cooks

Making food your family will love

Find A Way by JWP

Find daily inspiration in decor style creativity

est. wander

Inspiring others to have the desire to travel.