Chocolate Fudge Tia Maria Cake

Well hello, hello! Yes, I’m back.  2018, huh? What a year, and it’s still only January.

There is a recipe I have been wanting to bake for years.  Yes, years.  But for some reason or other, I never manage to get round to it.  When I was in primary school, my best friend Becky’s mum made a lovely cake called Parkin.  It was so delicious, I persuaded her to let me have the recipe, and a few months later I was at my stepmother’s house and decided to bake this for everyone.  Not being familiar with the kitchen, and where she kept everything, I could not find the flour.  I busied myself getting the ingredients together and then, somehow, managed to get distracted and forgot to ask where the flour was.  The cake was mixed, put in the oven and baked…………….the finished result was….well, let’s just say, it didn’t hold together well.  As we were all munching on the bits of cake – which were, everyone agreed, delicious – it suddenly came to me…the flour!!! That’s what was missing. 11-year old me didn’t have the confidence to confess, but, anyway, everyone enjoyed the (not quite proper) Parkin.

Fast-forward rather a lot of years, and this weekend I decided to revisit this cake.  I didn’t have the original recipe anymore, but, there are plenty about on a Google search.  The result?  Fail!!! I don’t know if it was me, the recipe, bad luck or a combination of all three.  It was horrible, dry….it ended up in the rubbish bin.

I felt I had to bake.  I had to bake something that would work out.  I had to bake something I had not baked before.  Saturday was #NationalChocolateCakeDay.  What else, then, but a variation on the chocolate cake theme!  Chocolate cake with a slight twist, the ultimate Tia Maria Chocolate fudge cake.

P1010103

I didn’t have any white sugar, and so the sugar I used was light muscovado sugar. In the method, I mixed the melted chocolate mixture with the flour, whisked it well and then added all the eggs, whisking as I added.  I didn’t think it would make a crucial difference to the outcome and I don’t think it did.

The cake is lovely, rich, moist, chocolatey and fudgey.  I have not iced it, but I think a good dollop of thick boozy cream would go very well with it instead of icing.

Wherever you are, whatever you are doing, I wish you a peaceful weekend 🙂

Author: rockcakesramblings

I'm human. I'm not doing this because I think I'm good enough. I just want to try. Join me for some ranting, food talk, random photos. It's life!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Fudge Tia Maria Cake”

Leave a comment

Baker on the Run

Baking to deal with all the things, running to compensate.

Art and Soul

Books served with a generous slice of cake.

New Classic Recipe

- RECIPES, STORIES, ART

Travel Gourmet

Travel tips-Restaurant reviews-Recipes

Tasty Eats

Tasty recipes from chef Ronit Penso's kitchen

The Joys of Baking and Cooking

A celebration of home cooked food

surprising recipes

, easy, tasty and surprising recipes for everyone

beautifulpeopleinc.com

Live, Love, Travel and Laugh (Proudly Pinoy)

THE PARMIGIANA WHISPERER

- cream doesn't belong to carbonara -

Not So Skinny Cook

Delicious, healthy, food for busy families.

The Soggy Bottom

Spilling secrets from the stove

Dad That Cooks

Making food your family will love

Find A Way by JWP

Find daily inspiration in decor style creativity

est. wander

Inspiring others to have the desire to travel.